Home » Vision and Planning

Vision and Planning workshop

Addressing challenges shared by digital leaders around the world

This workshop will help participants tackle one of the key challenges identified in our research, and foster the development of relationships, networks and projects that can hasten progress over future years. The workshops’ outcomes will then shape the Digital Summit, ensuring that it meets the current needs and interests of national digital leaders.

Vision and planning

Wednesday 30 March 2022 (Online)

Too often, national digital vision and strategy documents are vague and generic – setting out the goal of ‘digitising government’ without prioritising tasks, allocating funding, or detailing implications such as changed roles or responsibilities. Yet where these more difficult and controversial issues have not been addressed as the vision is developed, problems are bound to arise during implementation.

It is easy to understand why the digital leaders writing vision documents tend to skirt around some of these topics: few other senior officials want to hear that the changes required will be expensive, substantive and disruptive, that the digital centre will be taking new powers, or that departments will be subject to new targets and reporting regimes.

However, if those arguments aren’t held – and won – at this early stage, then digital leaders can find themselves lacking the powers, resources and buy-in required to transform government. This session will consider both the essential elements of an effective digital transformation strategy, and the ways in which digital leaders can win the buy-in, engagement and support of departmental chiefs and the heads of other professional functions.

Apply to attend

Agenda

Introduction and Welcome

11:30 UTC

[19:30 Sing / 13:30 CEST / 12:30 BST / 06:30 EST]

Facilitated by Matt Ross, Kevin Cunnington will welcome participants and brief them on the Global Digital Leaders Study, specifically the findings on Vision and Plan

[30 minutes]

Session A: Capabilities

12:00 UTC

Karen Kee, Deputy Director, Government Technology Agency, Smart National Digital Government Office, Singapore and Simon Willis, Vice President, Public Sector Innovation, Mastercard will each make a short presentation, followed by group discussion

[75 minutes]

13:15 UTC

Refreshment / Lunch Break

Session B: Methods

14:15 UTC

 

[22:15 Sing / 16:15 CEST / 15:15 BST / 09:15 EST]

Siim Sikkut, Former Government Chief Information Officer, Estonia and Sohail Carim, Expert Solutions Manager, SAP will each make a short presentation, followed by group discussion

[75 minutes]

Conclusions and summary

15:30 UTC

Summary, thanks and next steps

[30 minutes]

Partners

Participants

Luxmore Edwards

Director of Information Technology, Ministry of Information, Broadcasting, Telecommunications and Information, Antigua and Barbuda

Daniel Knight

Director of e-Government, Ministry of Information, Broadcasting, Telecommunications and Information, Antigua and Barbuda

Guido Picus

Program Lead, Futura Lab, Aruba 

Juan Pablo Pazos

President of Mesas Sectoriales SENA, Colombia 

Lana Belas

Head of Project Management and Digital Society Development Service, Sector for Security and Coordination of Digital Society Development, Central State Office, Croatia

Jasna Sajko

Head of Sector, Digital Society Registry and Database Development Service, Central State Office, Croatia

Branka Vuk

Head of Sector for Security and Coordination of Digital Society Development, Central State Office, Croatia

Siim Sikkut

Former Government Chief Information Officer, Estonia

Kevin Cunnington

Former Director General, Government Digital Service, United Kingdom and Advisor, Global Government Forum

Matt Ross

Contributing Editor, Global Government Forum

Barna Gaál

Deputy CIO of Hungary and Head of E-Administration Unit, Ministry of Interior, Hungary

Íris Huld Christersdóttir

Specialist in Innovation, Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs, Iceland

Vinay Thakur

Chief Operating Officer, National e-Governance Division, India 

Gatis Ozols

Deputy State Secretary on Digital Transformation Issues, Electronic Government Department, Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development, Latvia

Arūnas Cijūnaitis

Director of Digital Agenda Department, Ministry of the Economy and Innovation, Lithuania

Simon Willis

Vice President, Public Sector Innovation, Mastercard 

Grant Johnstone

Vice President, Enterprise Development (Government Centre of Excellence – Global Head of Digital Country Plans and Partnerships), Mastercard

Sohail Carim

Expert Solution Manager, SAP

Karen Kee

Deputy Director of the Government Technology Agency, Singapore

Kendrick Lee

Director of the National Digital Identity (Singpass) programme, Government Technology Agency (govtech), Singapore

Mstyslav Banik

Director of eServices Development Directorate, Ministry of the Digital transformation, Ukraine

Dan Brember

Head of Policy and Strategy GOV.UK, Government Digital Service, United Kingdom

Rhiannon Lawson

Head of Standards, Centre Public Digital Services, Wales

Tiago C. Peixoto

Senior Public Sector Specialist, World Bank Group

Workshops & events